3 AIADMK Lok Sabha MPs join Panneerselvam camp

SansadTV Bureau

Sasikala O Panneerselvam Tamil NaduIn more support for Tamil Nadu Chief Minister O Panneerselvam, three AIADMK Lok Sabha MPs today joined his camp.

MPs from Namakkal and Krishnagiri, P R Sundaram and K Ashok Kumar, extended their support to Panneerselvam, who has raised a banner of revolt against AIADMK General Secretary V K Sasikala.

Later in the evening, AIADMK MP V Sathyabama came out in support of Panneerselvam, saying he enjoys the support of the people.

Rajya Sabha MP V Maitreyan has already extended support to Panneerselvam.

Representing the textile city of Tirupur in Lok Sabha, Sathyabama blamed Sasikala for favouring those who were “rejected” by late Jayalalithaa.

In a veiled attack on Sasikala, she said “a priest, though venerable, cannot become God, and similarly nobody can become Amma.”

“Today, those were rejected by Amma are holding big positions there (Sasikala group),” Satyabama said, flanked by Panneerselvam and other leaders of his faction.

She said Panneerselvam would “continue in office” and fulfil all the schemes that were envisioned by Amma for the people.

“People’s support is there. I was flooded with phone calls from voters of my constituency to take a good decision,” she said.

People consider only late Jayalalithaa as “Amma,” she said and added that it will be Panneerselvam who will be able to take forward her work.

She also voiced Pannerselvam’s choice phrase of “dharma will triumph.”

Panneerselvam openly revolted against Sasikala on February 7, two days after she was elected the Legislature Party leader for her elevation as Chief Minister.

He had alleged that he was forced to step down as Chief Minister to make way for Sasikala.