45 teachers from across the country honored with National Teachers’ Award

SansadTV Bureau
Teachers Day Function

National Teachers’ Day

September 5 is celebrated as National Teachers Day. The day marked to honour the contribution of teachers to society.

It is also the birth anniversary of former President of India Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan who was a staunch believer of value-based education, a scholar and above all a teacher.

President Ram Nath Kovind extended heartiest greetings to all teachers in the country. He said may our great gurus continue to help and guide us in building a nation and world full of wisdom, peace and harmony.

On the ocassion today, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu took to twitter to pay homage to Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan. He said his contribution to the field of education is incomparable. He said teachers are nation-builders, who shape the caliber and character of children.

Prime Minister Modi also took to twitter to laud the teaching community. He said teachers play a vital role shaping the young minds and building the nation.

On the ocassion 45 teachers were honoured with the National Teachers Award at a function at Vigyan Bhawan in Delhi.

Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu gave away the awards. This year, the HRD Ministry revised guidelines for the selection of Teachers for the National Awards. Under the revised guidelines, all regular teachers were eligible to apply and the minimum 15 years of service had been done away with. The teachers got the chance to directly apply and nominate themselves for the award. Self-nominations from teachers were invited online.