5 MPs conferred Outstanding Parliamentary Awards

RSTV Bureau
File Photo of Parliament Housing Building in New Delhi.

File Photo of Parliament Housing Building in New Delhi.

The Indian Parliamentary Group has decided to confer Outstanding Parliamentary Awards on five members of parliament. The awardees were selected on the basis of their experience, debating skills, awareness of issues and the depth with which issues were raised.

Najma Heptulla will be awarded for the year 2013. Then Rajya Sabha MP and a former union minister, Heptullah is currently the governor of Manipur.

For 2014, BJP’s Lok Sabha MP Hukumdev Narayan Yadav will be given the award, while leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad has been named outstanding parliamentarian for 2015.

For 2016, Lok Sabha member from TMC, Dinesh Trivedi will be given the award and for the year 2017, BJD’s Lok Sabha MP Bhartruhari Mahatab has been named outstanding parliamentarian.

The names were shortlisted by an award committee headed by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and including Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP veteran LK Advani, Deputy Chairman of the Upper House PJ Kurien, Congress leader Karan Singh and Ram Bhadur Rai, head of the Indira Gandhi National Centre For Arts.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar was a special invite to the committee.

The committee also considered the member’s observance of the rules of procedure, maintenance of dignity and contribution in parliamentary committees among others.

The committee recommended these names to the IPG, a 24-member autonomous body of the current and former MPs of both houses which is also headed by the Speaker.

(With inputs from PTI)