With 58 MPs, BJP emerges as the single largest party in RS

RSTV Bureau

The BJP has emerged as the single largest political party in the Rajya Sabha, where it now has 58 members against 57 of the main opposition party.

BJP MP Sampatiya Uikey taking oath as Rajya Sabha member

BJP MP Sampatiya Uikey taking oath as Rajya Sabha member

But the BJP-led government is still short of a majority in the 245-seat Upper House of Parliament.

BJP MP Sampatiya Uikey, who was elected to the Upper House following a bypoll in Madhya Pradesh, took oath on Thursday.

This is the first time that the party has become the number one formation in the upper House after the Narendra Modi government came to power in May 2014.

NDA’s numbers are set to get a boost in the Rajya Sabha with the Janata Dal (United) – BJP Bihar alliance.

NDA is looking confident that it can rely on parties like All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Biju Janata Dal, Indian National Lok Dal, Telangana Rashtra Samiti, YSR Congress Party and others to gain a majority in the Upper House.

With the support of the neutral parties, government can enjoy the support of 126-members in the 245 member House.