More than 70% Rajya Sabha MPs raised Starred Questions in the past two sessions

RSTV Bureau
Rajya Sabha Proceedings (RSTV Grab)

Rajya Sabha Proceedings (RSTV Grab)

Rajya Sabha MP A Vijay Kumar of AIADMK raised the highest number of 13 Starred Questions during the last two sessions of Rajya Sabha. He was the lead questioner during the 249th session with 7 questions to his credit and was in the second position during the 250th Session with 6 questions. Dr Santanu Sen of TMC was the lead questioner with 7 during the 250th Session.

Rajya Sabha Secretariat conducted an analysis of the participation of the members in the Question Hour during the 249th and 250th sessions after Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu sought to know the details regarding the extent of opportunities that members get to raise questions.

The analysis of 660 Starred Questions including 375 listed for 25 question days during the 249th session and 285 listed for 19 question days during the 250th session revealed that 75% and 65% of the Members got opportunities to raise Starred Questions during the last two Sessions respectively.

With the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha and 13 Union Ministers from the Upper House not submitting notices of Questions, an effective strength of 226 Members was considered for the analysis. 177 members raised questions during the 249th session and 146 during the 250th.

It is revealed that about 7% of the Members accounted for about 25% of the total 660 Questions listed during the two Sessions while about one-third members accounted for about 75% of the total Questions listed. During the 249th Session, 49 Members did not raise any Starred Question while this number was 80 in case of the 250th Session.

Lead questioners during the last two Sessions combined include; A Vijay Kumar of AIADMK (13), Harnath Singh Yadav of BJP (11), Dr Santanu Sen of TMC (10), Dr Banda Prakash of TRS (9), Ram Nath Thakur of BJP (9), Amar Shankar Sable of BJP (9), Dr Vinay P. Sahasrabuddhe of BJP (9), Dr L. Hanumanthaiah of Congress (8), Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar of TDP (8)
and V Prabhakara Reddy of YSRCP (8). Smt. Sasikala Pushpa Ramaswamy of AIADMK with 7 Questions was in the lead among the 25 women Members of Rajya Sabha.

About 100 Members of Rajya Sabha give about 200 notices of Starred Questions per day out of which 25 are picked by lottery. Of these, 15 are listed subject to norms of acceptability as Starred and the remaining as Unstarred Questions. Each Member is allowed to submit a maximum of 7 notices per day.

Question Hour is an important Parliamentary instrument for the members to seek accountability of the Government for the policies and programmes and their execution.

15 Starred Questions are listed per day and they are picked up by lottery from the notices for questions given by the members. A member can give only up to 7 notices per day.