ACB Chief Meena, 13 Delhi Police Officers Transferred

RSTV Bureau
File Photo: Delhi Anti Corruption Bureau Chief MK Meena transferred to Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

File Photo: Delhi Anti Corruption Bureau Chief MK Meena transferred to Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

Delhi Anti-Corruption Branch (ACB) chief Mukesh Kumar Meena, who had been at the loggerheads with the Arvind Kejriwal government, was transferred along with 13 senior Delhi Police officials in a major reshuffle by Union Home Ministry on Tuesday night.

The transfer of the officials came amid attack on Delhi Police by opposition parties in the wake of the JNU incident and alleged inaction by the police during the assault on journalists at Patiala House court yesterday.

As per the transfer order, Meena who had incurred the wrath of the Aam Aadmi Party government over a number of controversial cases, has been sent to the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, official sources said.

Deputy Commissioner of Police (South) Prem Nath, who is handling a number of high-profile cases, including the Sunanda Pushkar death case, has been shifted to Mizoram.

While Joint Commissioner of Police (Central range) S K Gautam has been transferred to Puducherry, Special Commissioner of Police (Traffic) Muktesh Chander has been moved to Goa, sources said.

Another Joint Commissioner rank official, T S Luthra, who was posted in the security unit, has been shifted to Chandigarh.

Meanwhile, 1986-batch IPS officer, T N Mohan, who is presently posted at Goa, is supposed to join as a Special Commissioner here replacing Chander.

The other top slots will be occupied by R P Upadhay, presently posted at Chandigarh, Praween Rajan, presently at Pondicherry, and V Renganathan, presently serving at Goa.

The order also states that Gautam and Rajan’s transfers shall be put on hold until the conclusion of the general elections at Pondicherry, sources said.

The others to be transferred out of Delhi are all DCP rank officials which includes S N Mossobi, Shweta Chauhan, B K Yadav, Chandan Chaudhary, Ghanshyam Bansal, Usha Rangnani, Pranav Tayal, S K Sain and the present additional DCP of New Delhi district Deepak Gauri.

The officers who have been shifted to Delhi include Esha Pandey, Rajiv Ranjan, R P Meena (to join by September after completion of three years tenure at Mizoram), Rajneesh Gupta, Devender Arya and Vijayanta Arya (both to join by August after competion of their respective tenure in Arunachal Pradesh), sources added.

(With inputs from agencies).