Advani new chairman of Lok Sabha’s Ethics Committee

RSTV Bureau

BJP veteran L K Advani is the new chairman of the prestigious Ethics Committee of Lok Sabha.

86-year-old Advani, who missed the bus to be a senior minister in the Narendra Modi government due to the decision to keep out those above 75, was appointed to the post by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

Manikrao Gavit of Congress was heading the Committee in the last Lok Sabha.

Other members of the Committee are A Arunmozhithevan, Ninong Ering, Sher Singh Ghubaya, Hemant Tukaram Godse, Pralhad Joshi, Bhagatsingh Koshyari, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Bhartruhari Mahtab, Kariya Munda, Jayshreeben Patel, Malla Reddy, Sumedhanand Saraswati and Bhola Singh.

Advani is a member of the Committee on Public Undertakings headed by Shanta Kumar (BJP) and Committee on Information Technology headed by young BJP MP Anurag Thakur.

Another BJP veteran Murli Manohar Joshi is heading the Committee on Estimates. Party senior Maj Gen B C Khanduri is heading the Committee on Defence.

The Ethics Committee examines every complaint relating to unethical conduct of a member referred to it.

It is also free to take up suo motu investigation into matters relating to ethics, including matters relating to unethical conduct by a member wherever felt necessary and make such recommendations as it may deem fit.