AIADMK to re-elect Jaya as Legislative party chief today

RSTV Bureau

AIADMK-Supporters-celebrate-victoryAfter creating historic victory in Tamil Nadu assembly polls on Friday, AIADMK chief Jayalalitha is all set to be elected as leader of the Legislature Party in the party meet in Chennai today. Jaya and her party colleagues are expected to decide the date for the swearing in ceremony and finalise the ministerial portfolios.

The elected members of the All India Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam are expected to elect Jatalalitha for the Chief Minister unopposed in the Legislature Party meeting scheduled at 5 PM today.

“AIADMK’s legislative members’ are meeting in the party headquarters and all the elected members should participate without fail,” Jayalalithaa said in statement.

Preparations for Jaya’s arrival at Namakkal Kavingyar Maaligai, the 11-storied building at the Fort St. George campus in Chennai are going in full speed. The building has been serving as Amma’s power centre (state secretariat of Tamil Nadu) from 2011.

AIADMK has won over 134 constituencies maintain a definitive lead in the elections and making it a first instance in 32 years of Tamil Nadu politics. Only MG Ramchandran, founder of the AIADMK who elected for three consecutive terms.

AIADMK Chief Jayalalithaa with party leaders at her residence in Chennai. Courtesy: Twitter/AIADMKOfficial

AIADMK Chief Jayalalithaa with party leaders at her residence in Chennai.
Courtesy: Twitter/AIADMKOfficial

AIADMK’s several of the sitting Ministers including her trusted aide and Finance Minister O Panneerselvam. Industries Minister P Thangamani is expected to retain their portfolios in the Jaya 2.0 government.

AIADMK which won the May 16 Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu has bettered its vote share marginally at 40.8 per cent but DMK too improved its pie significantly compared to the previous polls.

Making her victory speech from her residence at Chennai’s Poes Garden, Jaya thanked the voters for choosing AIADMK and promised to work for the welfare of people.

“I am overwhelmed by the resounding victory the people of Tamil Nadu have given us. My party and I are indebted to the people of Tamil Nadu for giving this historic victory,” she said.

Elections were held only to 232 out of the 234 Assembly constituencies since the Election Commission has deferred polling in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur over allegations of bribing voters.

The party had contested 165 seats in 2011 and won 150 of them. In the current election, it tried its luck from 227 constituencies. Even in the seven seats allotted to alliance parties, they contested on the AIADMK’s Two Leaves symbol.