Amit Shah, Smriti Irani take oath as Rajya Sabha MPs

RSTV Bureau

BJP chief Amit Shah and Union minister Smriti Irani took oath as Rajya Sabha members on Friday morning.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath to Shah and Irani in his chamber in the Parliament House.

Shah is making his debut in Parliament. Both were elected to the Upper House from Gujarat earlier this month.

They were accompanied by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad among others.

Both the leaders were also accompanied by their spouses for the ceremony.

Shah sat for a few minutes with his party colleagues in the BJP office in Parliament. After the oath, he along with his wife called on BJP veteran leader L K Advani at his residence to seek his blessings.