All arrangements in place for 2nd phase of Jharkhand assembly polls tomorrow


Election Commission File Photo, PTI

Election Commission File Photo, PTI

All arrangements have been put in place for the second phase of Jharkhand assembly elections on Saturday.

Twenty constituencies spread over seven districts will go to polls in this phase.

These districts are East Singhbhum, West Singhbhum, Saraikela-Kharsawan, Ranchi, Khunti, Gumla and Simdega. More than 47 lakh voters will decide the fate of 260 candidates including 29 women.

Officials said, polling will start at 7 AM. Due to security reasons, it will end at 3 PM in 18 assembly constituencies. But electorates can cast their votes 5 PM in Jamshedpur East and Jamshedpur west assembly constituencies.

Over 24 thousand polling personnel and more than 42 thousand security personnel have been deployed to ensure free, fair and peaceful polling.

Central Armed Para Military and District Police forces have been deployed on all polling booths.

Prominent candidates in the fray include Chief Minister Raghubar Das.

Transport facility will be provided to all Divyang and 80 years plus old votershelping them to exercise their right of franchise.

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Jharkhand Vinay Kumar Choubey said like earlier phase, Election Commission has directed to ensure this facility in allpoll-bound constituencies of tomorrow and rest of the other three phases.