BCCI announces squad for Champions Trophy; Rohit Sharma returns

RSTV Bureau

rohit_1BCCI on Monday announced the 15-member Indian side for the upcoming Champions Trophy, which is scheduled to begin on June 1.

Rohit Sharma made a comeback to the side after being away from the side for several months owing to his thigh injury.

Mohammed Shami also made a comeback to the 50-over squad. He played his last ODI during the 2015 World Cup semi-final.

The team comprises of Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The selection panel, headed by MSK Prasad kept intact a tried-tested Indian squad which defeated England in a home series earlier this year.

“As of now, we have picked Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma as openers and Ajinkya Rahane is the back-up opener,” Prasad explained.

Manish Pandey beat bowler Kuldeep Yadav as the 15th member. Pandey made it in as an extra batsman in the squad.

“We definitely considered the name of Kuldeep. He would have been a surprise package but whether we would have played with two spinners is a question. Since Yuvraj (Singh) and Kedar (Jadhav) can bowl spin, he narrowly missed out,” said Prasad after the selection committee meeting.

Some of the other names that were discussed seriously were keeper-batsmen Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Shardul Thakur and Suresh Raina. Along with Kuldeep, these four are part of the standby list.

India, who are the defending champions, will play their opening match against Pakistan on June 4. The match will be held in England.

(With inputs from PTI)