Over 53% polling in phase 3; Women outnumbers again

RSTV Bureau

Patna: A security person helps a physically challenged voter at a polling station during third phase of Bihar Assembly elections, in Patna on Wednesday. PTI Photo

53.32 per cent voter turnout was recorded in 50 assembly constituencies spread across six districts of Bihar which went to the polls in the third phase on Wednesday. According to poll panel, women once again outnumbered men with 54 per cent turning up for voting, whereas 52.50 men queued up to cast their ballot. Buxar recorded maximum 56.58 per cent voter turnout, while Patna saw minimum 51.82 per cent voting.

The first phase of polling on October 12 witnessed 57 per cent voters turnout and 54.5 per cent in the second phase on October 16.

Overall 808 candidates are in the fray and of these 71 are women. Several heavyweights cast their vote this morning. The Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar cast his vote at around 10 am at a model polling booth in Bakhtiyarpur constituency in Patna district, said an official in the state capital.

RJD Chief Lalu Prasad cast his vote along with his wife Rabri Devi and son Tejaswi Yadav at a polling booth in Digha constituency in Patna.

Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad and former Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar, Sushil Kumar Modi also cast their vote in Patna early on Wednesday morning.

Patna: RJD leader Tejaswi Yadav shows his voter card at a polling station during third phase of Bihar assembly elections in Patna on Wednesday.

Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind also cast his vote along with his wife.

“Election is the mega festival of democracy and everyone should exercise his/her franchise,” said the Governor after voting at polling station number 305 at Government Girls Middle School in the Raj Bhawan premises.

Voting began at 7am and will be on until 5 pm in the evening. However, the Election Commission has cut short the time for voting by one hour in 10 constituencies. Polling in these constituencies will end at 4 pm while in the remaining 40 constituencies polling will end at 5 pm in the evening.

Voting has been largely peaceful. However, there were reports of EVM malfunction at a few places in the constituencies of Digha, Masaurhi, Mahnar and Buxar where polling began almost an hour late because of the malfunction.

(With inputs from PTI)