BJP finalises candidates for Haryana assembly polls

RSTV Bureau

amit_shahBJP on Wednesday released the first list of 43 candidates for the coming assembly elections in Haryana, nearly half the total number of 90 seats, giving ticket to the wife of veteran Congress leader Birender Singh who recently quit Congress and joined the saffron party.

There are seven women and 11 young turks among the 43 candidates.

Prominent among the candidates announced are BJP state secretary Anil Vij from Ambala Cant, Prem Lata Singh, wife of former Congress leader and Rajya Sabha member Birender Singh from Uchhana Kalan, O P Dhankar, BJP’s Kisan Morcha chief, in Baadli, Gian Chand Gupta, former Chandigarh Mayor in Panchkula.

Former Haryana ministers Jagdish Nehra in Rania, Krishna Gehlawat in Rai and Chattarpal Singh in Hansi were also named in the first list of candidates.

BJP’s youth leader from Rohtak Capt Abhimanyu will contest from Narnaund and BJP Haryana unit president Ram Bilas Sharma will battle for Mahendragarh seat.

Sitting MLA from Sonepat Kavita Jain has been renominated from the segment while senior BJP leader Santosh Yadav will fight from Ateli.

A revamped Central Election Committee, which excluded party veterans L K Advani and Murali Manohar Joshi, met for the first time today under the presidentship of Amit Shah and cleared the 43 names after discussions in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and CEC members including union ministers Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj and Nitin Gadkari.

Haryana has 90 assembly seats and the tenure of the legislature will end on October 27. The schedule for elections is expected to be declared this week.