BJP releases first list of candidates for Tamil Nadu polls


Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2016

After failing to get regional allies to fight local giants DMK and AIADMK, the Bharatiya Janata Party has announced its first list of candidates for the May 16 Assembly polls.

Unlike in 2014, where BJP built an umbrella alliance to fight the Dravidian giants like DMK and AIADMK, the party failed to get even a single party onboard.

The 54 persons in the party’s first list of candidates released party’s national secretary H Raja and two state vice presidents. The party released its candidates for 54 constituencies on its website on Saturday which includes six reserved seats.

According to the list of candidates put up on the BJP’s national website, Raja will contest from T Nagar seat in Chennai.

Known for making controversial remarks, Raja had earlier unsuccessfully contested from Alandur during the 2006 Assembly polls.

BJP’s state vice president and prominent woman leader Vanathi Sreenivasan is fighting from Coimbatore (South) while another vice president M Chakravarthy is trying his luck from Tiruthani.

The Central Election Committee of BJP had announced the list of 54 candidates for the Tamil Nadu assembly polls at Delhi yesterday and said that a second list would be issued after talks with IJK and NJP fructify in the coming days.

Asked whether BJP is still hopeful of an alliance with AIADMK, BJP CEC Secretary JP Nadda said talks are on with these parties only.

“Second list would be issued after talks with IJK and NJP fructify in the coming days.

National Justice Party (NJP) and India Jananayaka Katchi (IJK) party founded by SRM University Chancellor T.R.Pachaimuthu were part of NDA during 2014 Lok Sabha elections.