Modi rejigs cabinet, prepares ground for 2017 polls

RSTV Bureau
PM Narendra Modi at the swearing-in ceremony of new Ministers, inducted into the Union Council of Ministers at Rashtapathi Bhavan Courtesy: Twitter/PIBIndia

PM Narendra Modi at the swearing-in ceremony of new Ministers, inducted into the Union Council of Ministers at Rashtapathi Bhavan
Courtesy: Twitter/PIBIndia

Ahead of the crucial Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, Prime Minister Narendra Modi made changes to his core Cabinet team on Tuesday. 19 new Ministers of States have been inducted to the cabinet apart from elevating Prakash Javadekar to Cabinet rank.

Javadekar was given MoS ( Independent) charge in the first cabinet expansion took place in 2014.

Prime Minister Modi has dropped five ministers from his Council of Ministers for reasons yet to be revealed by government.

These Ministers include Nihalchand, Ram Shankar Katheria, Sanwar Lal Jat, Manuskhbhai D Vasva and M K Kundariya.

Nihal Chand was a Minister of State in charge of Panchayati Raj, Katheria, an MP from Agra was the Minister of State in charge of HRD, Sanwar Lal Jat from Ajmer was an MoS in the Water Resources ministry and Mohanbhai Kundariya was a MoS in-charge of agriculture.

The oath-taking ceremony was be administered by President Pranab Mukherjee in the Durbar hall of Rashtrapathi Bhavan at 11 AM. The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Modi, BJP National President Amit Shah along with NDA governments cabinet ministers.

Prime Minister Modi held long discussions with BJP president Amit Shah over the last one month to finalise the changes. The induction of the new minister into the cabinet comes just a day before the PM Modi leaves for Africa.

On Monday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi met a group of journalists in Delhi and briefed them about cabinet reshuffle and said that the rejig will “reflect the budget focus and priorities” of his government.

Modi also discussed issues like his government’s four-point agenda on minimum government for maximum governance, expeditious clearance of office files and improving ease of doing business.

Sources indicate that Prime Minister Modi has given priority to political veterans to leverage on their decades of experience and understanding of ministries. Modi- Shah duo has also considered the cast factors keeping in social equations in poll bound states like UP and Punjab.

Here is the list of ministers who sworn-in today

These 19 Ministers represent the states of Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Bengal, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Uttarakhand, Karnataka and Assam.

  1. PP Chaudhary:  Member of Parliament in Lok Sabha represents Pali in Rajsthan
  2. Subhash Ram Rao: He represents the Dhule constituency of Maharashtra in Lok Sabha.
  3. MJ Akbar: National spokesperson of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Rajya Sabha MP from Jharkhand
  4. Arjun Ram Meghwal: He represents Bikaner constituency in Lok Sabhha, Rajasthan
  5. Anil Madhav Dave:  Member of Parliament in Rajya Sabha; represents Madhya Pradesh
  6. Ramesh Jigajinagi: He represents the Bijapur constituency of Karnataka and is a member of the BJP
  7. Purshotam Rupala: A senior BJP leader from Gujarat in Rajya Sabha
  8. Jaswant Sinh Bhabhor: Sinh is a Lok Sabha MP from Dahod in Gujarat
  9. Rajan Gohain: He has been representing the Nowgong constituency in Assam since 1999 in Lok Sabha
  10. Mahendra Nath Pandey: A Lok Sabha MP from Chandauli constituency in UP
  11. Faggan Kulaste: He represents the Mandla constituency of Madhya Pradesh and is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party
  12. Vijay Goel: Goel is a senior leader of the BJP who represents Delhi in Rajya Sabha
  13. Anupriya Singh Patel: Apna Dal leader, representing Mirzapur constituency in Lok Sabha from UP
  14. Mansukh Mandaviya: He represents Gujarat in Rajya Sabha; has been a party functionary for long
  15. CR Chaudhary: Chhotu Ram Chaudhary is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party and represents Nagaur constituency of Rajasthan in Lok Sabha
  16. Ajay Tamta: Ajay Tamta is a politician from Uttarakhand and a Member of Parliament from Almora
  17. Ramdas Athalwale: President of RPI (A), represents Maharashtra in the Upper House
  18. Krishna Raj:  Lok Sabha MP from Shahjahanpur constituency of Uttar Pradesh
  19. SS Ahluwalia: BJP senior leader represents Darjeeling seat in Lok Sabha

(RSTV Bureau report with inputs from Vishal Dahiya)