Campaign ends for assembly polls in Maharashtra and Haryana

RSTV Bureau
Election Commission File Photo, PTI

Election Commission File Photo, PTI

The campaigning for the Haryana and Maharashtra assembly elections ended on Saturday evening with prominent leaders holding rallies in various districts of the two states.

The elections in both the states will be held on October 21, results of which will be declared on October 24.

In the state of Haryana of the over 1.83 crore voters, over 83 lakh are women. As many as 19,578 polling stations, 13,837 of these in rural areas, had been set up across the state amid tight security arrangements, officials said.

The state has 90 assembly segments, for which 1,169 candidates, including 105 women, are in the fray.

Maharashtra has a total of 8,98,39,600 voters, including 4,28,43,635 women and 4,68,75,750 men, who are expected to exercise their franchise on October 21 to elect 288 out of total 3237 candidates, including 235 women, in the fray.

A total of 1,06,76,013 are voters fall in the age group of 18-25 years. The BJP is contesting 164 seats, which include candidates of smaller allies contesting on its lotus symbol, while Sena has fielded candidates on 126 seats.

On the other hand, the Congress has fielded 147 candidates and the ally NCP 121.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed two rallies in Rewari and Ellenabad in Haryana on the last day.

In some other rallies, BJP President Amit Shah lead the final campaign in Maharashtra, he addressed the public in Navapur and is scheduled to addresses rallies in Akole and Karjat districts.

Former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh addressed the media in Chandigarh today. Prominent leaders from Congress and NCP campaigned in the poll-bound states.

Meanwhile, Electioneering for by-polls to two Lok Sabha constituencies and 51 Assembly seats in 17 states also concluded today.

By-polls will be held in Samastipur Lok Sabha seat in Bihar and Satara Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra.

Assembly constituencies for which by-polls will be held are – 11 seats of Uttar Pradesh, 6 of Gujarat, 5 seats each in Kerala and Bihar, 3 in Sikkim, 4 each of Punjab and Assam, 2 each of Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and Himachal Pradesh and one seat each in Odisha, Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Meghalaya, Pudducherry and Arunachal Pradesh.

(With inputs from News Agency)