CM TR Zeliang proves his majority in Nagaland Assembly

SansadTV Bureau
File Photo of newly appointed Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang.

File Photo of newly appointed Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang.

Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang proved his majority in the Nagaland Assembly on Friday afternoon.

Zeliang secured 47 out of the 59 votes in the House which included 36 votes from NPF, 4 from BJP and 7 from the Independents, Speaker Imtiwapang said.

Former chief minister and NPF leader Shurhozelie Liezietsu bagged 11 votes – 10 from the NPF and one Independent vote, the Speaker said.

Zeliang was sworn-in as the chief minister on Wednesday after his rival Shurhozelie Liezietsu failed to turn up in the Assembly for the floor test.

On Wednesday, Nagaland Governor PB Acharya appointed TR Zeliang as the new Chief Minister of the state and asked him to prove his majority on the floor of the House on or before July 22.

Nagaland Assembly was adjourned sine die after CM Liezietsu failed to turn up for the floor test at a special session. Liezietsu, who is facing a rebellion from MLAs of his party Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF) was to prove his majority.

Zeliang was forced out of office in February following large-scale protests over holding of urban local bodies election with 33 per cent reservation for women. He had staked claim to form the government saying he had majority support in the House.

BJP is a pre-poll alliance partner of the NPF and a constituent of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) government in the state.