BJP wins Himachal but CM candidate Dhumal loses seat

SansadTV Bureau

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Polls

Total – 68 seats

Half-way mark – 34

Parties Results
BJP 44
Congress 21
Others 03

BJP is set to form the next government in Himachal Pradesh. The final results show the party won 44 seats comfortably crossing the half-way mark of 34 seats. BJP’s rival Congress won in just 21 seats.

In terms of vote share, BJP managed 48.8 per cent while Congress 41.8 per cent.

BJP’s victory in Himachal has kept up the tradition in the state of alternating power every five years. BJP’s chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal himself lost his constituency Sujanpur. He’s lost to Congress’ Rajinder Rana by nearly 3500 votes.

Dhumal losing his seat is a big setback for the BJP and the chances of him becoming the state’s chief minster are not very bright. The 73-year-old leader had changed his constituency from Hamirpur to Sujanpur for this election.

Interestingly, both parties had contested in all 68 seats and the state recorded a whopping 75.28 per cent turnout on November 9, 2017.

Congress veteran and six-time Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and his son Vikramaditya Singh won from Arki and Shimla(Rural) respectively. The victory comes for both these leaders despite the fact that the top Congress top didn’t campaign much in Himachal to focus on Gujarat.

In 2012, Singh had come to power with a narrow margin – the Congress had grabbed 36 seats and the BJP fetched only 26.

This time, the BJP had fought the state polls on the plank of anti-corruption, and had promised to oust the alleged corrupt Congress government.