Cong ‘shadow committees’ launch attack on Modi govt

SansadTV Bureau
File Photo (PTI)

File Photo (PTI)

Using social media, Congress has launched an attack on the Narendra Modi government for the terrorist attack in Uri in Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab eye camp blinding, disinvestment, IIT faculty shortage and other issues.

Through different hash tags on Twitter, it has also attacked Modi quoting a news headline “Modi sweeping away environmental norms in a bid for growth. Growth at what cost?” The party believes that Modi’s media campaign blitzkrieg, particularly on social media was one of the contributory factors to the unprecedented drubbing of Congress in Lok Sabha polls.

As part of its moves to be an effective opposition, Congress has taken to twitter to expose chinks in the government’s functioning latching on to various reports in media about the ministries concerned.

Shadow Cabinet committees were formed to keep a watch on decisions and policies of key ministries of the Modi government and corner it on issues during and after the Winter Session.

Some of the news headlines re-tweeted by the INC are “@MoHFW_INDShadow: Behind Punjab eye camp blinding: One doctor, 49 surgeries… DefenceMinInShadow: 8 Armymen die in Uri attack. HRDMinistry_Shadow @HRDMinShadow: IITs face 37% faculty shortage.

“RailMinIndia_Shadow @RailMinInShadow : Another mishap at a railway crossing claims two more children’s lives in UP. Shadow Min of EA @ShadowMinOfEA: Modi sweeping away environmental norms in a bid for growth. Growth at what cost?

Despite being reduced to just 44 members in Lok Sabha, Congress has utilised its pool of talent in Parliament to confront the government which will be enacting new laws and amending those passed by the erstwhile Congress-led government.

Former ministers, including A K Antony, M Veerappa Moily, Anand Sharma, Oscar Fernandes as also Congress leader in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge and Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad are prominent members of these committees.

The committee that looks into issues relating to finance, foreign affairs, commerce and information and broadcasting has Moily, Sharma and Jyotiraditya Scindia as members while the panel on home, defence and law and justice has Antony, Ashwani Kumar and IYC chief Rajiv Satav in it.

Digvijay Singh, Ashok Chavan and Ninong Erring are part of the group which is focusing on agriculture and drinking water and sanitation. Kharge is on the panel on railways and labour along with Fernandes and Ranjeeta Ranjan.

The committee on HRD, panchayati raj and northeastern region has Mani Shankar Aiyar, Bhalchandra Mungekar and Sushmita Dev as members.

The panel comprising K V Thomas, Jairam Ramesh and Gaurav Gogoi is looking look after rural development and environment issues.