Congress wins Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll in Madhya Pradesh

RSTV Bureau

bjp-congressCongress’ Nilanshu Chaturvedi won the Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll in Madhya Pradesh on Sunday.

Chaturvedi defeated his BJP rival Shankar Dayal Tripathi by a margin of 14,133 votes.

While Chaturvedi polled 66,810 votes, Tripathi got 52,677 votes, returning officer AP Dwivedi said.

Even though 12 candidates had contested the Chitrakoot by-election, the fight was mainly between Chaturvedi and Tripathi.

Around 65 per cent voting was recorded in the November 9 bypoll. The bypoll was held after the death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh.

Singh had won the assembly constituency in the 1998, 2003 and 2013 elections. But he had lost the seat to BJP’s Surendra Singh Gaharwar in the 2008 polls.

The counting of votes had begun around 8 am amid tight security in Satna district, which is around 400 kms from Bhopal.

(With inputs from PTI)