Counting begins for Delhi assembly polls

SansadTV Bureau

haryana_pollsCounting of votes for the high-profile Delhi Assembly elections in which BJP and AAP are locked in a direct fight has started at 8 AM on Tuesday and final results are likely to be available by 1 PM.

Delhi Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for counting of the ballots which will take place in 14 Centres across the city under tight security.

The Election Commission is displaying the trends and results of counting of votes of the Delhi assembly election using a large screen outside its headquarters at Ashoka Road.

The results and trends is also available at, an EC statement said.

Scenario at a glance is also available in the form of a pie chart as a graphical representation on the website.

The results and trends is available in both Hindi and English.

All the exit polls have given AAP a decisive edge over BJP with one of them giving it as high as 53 seats in the 70-member House.

A record 67.14 per cent turnout was recorded in the polls on Saturday in which a total of 673 candidates contested. Polling had taken place at 12,177 polling stations, of which 714 have been identified as “critical”. Of these, 191 were “highly critical”.

More men than women drove the increase in voter turnout in the 2015 Assembly elections in the Capital, and the gender gap among voters widened slightly, an analysis of data shows.

According to numbers released by the Delhi Chief Electoral Officer on Sunday, 6.36 lakh more men voted in 2015 than in 2013. For women, the increase was 4.71 lakh voters. So while the male voter turnout was 67.64 per cent, for women it was 66.5 per cent.

There are 63 contesting women candidates in this election as against 71 in 2013. The number of candidates from recognised national and state parties is 296 while 183 candidates belong to registered parties and there are 194 Independent nominees.

Counting of votes is taking place in ITI Nand Nagri, Netaji Subhash Institute of Technology, Dwarka Sector 3, Integrated Institute of Technology Dwarka, Sector-9, Veer Sawarkar Training Centre, Pusa, NP Girls Middle School, Gole Market, NP Girls Senior Secondary School, Gole Market and Rajkiya Pratibha Vikas Vidyalaya Raj Niwas Marg.

Votes will also be counted in Shaheed Ameer Chand Sarvodaya Kanya Vidyalaya, Raj Niwas Marg, Jija Bai Industrial Training Institute for Women, August Kranti Marg, Badminton Hall, CWG Sports Complex and Delhi Technological University Campus, Shahbad Daulat Pur.