Counting begins for J&K, Jharkhand polls

RSTV Bureau

Elections_pollsCounting of votes for the 87 assembly seats in Jammu and Kashmir and 81 seats in Jharkhand has begun. Both the states have gone through five phased elections witnessing remarkable voter turnout. The contest in Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand have become very interesting where BJP is trying to challenge the traditional regional party: NC and JMM which have a ruling government in these states.

The exit polls have projected BJP to be the winner in Jharkhand whereas in J&K it shows a hung verdict. No, doubt the exit polls earlier predictions will bring some soothing experience for the BJP. But the real taste of joy and sorrow will come to the fore when the counting starts. Will the saffron party sweep the regional party or the regional parties would be able to maintain their stronghold? All the political predictions and days of political excitements will be over soon.

The prime question is which way the political wind will blow in the political atmosphere of Jammu & Kashmir and Jharkhand. Will the lotus rise in both the states or fade away? Will ‘Modi Wave’ continue or disappear?

Both the states are politically crucial to the BJP. In Jammu and Kashmir, the BJP has set the target of ‘Mission44+’ – the number set for majority in the state assembly. Whereas, in Jharkhand the party is set for an absolute majority.

BJP held a series of stormy election rallies asking the electorates to give a chance to be in power. BJP promises stability, transparency and welfare state in Jharkhand whereas in Jammu and Kashmir, BJP calls for developing the state and rooting out “dynastic” rule of NC, PDP and Congress.

The stakes are high for the political parties involved, namely: BJP, Congress, National Conference (NC), People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM), RJD, JD (U), BSP, Panthers Party, AJSU.

The prominent candidates whose fate are at stake in Jammu and Kashmir election includes Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, Tara Chand, Sajjad Lone, Dr. Hina Bhat, Usman Abdul Majeed, Qazi Mohammad Afzal, Mohammad Yousuf Tarigami, Pawan Khajuria, Ali Muhammad Sagar, Mohammad Syed Akhoon, among others.

The main contestants in the poll arena of Jharkhand includes Chief Minister Hemant Soren, Shashank Sekhar Bhokta, Joba Manjhi, Champai Soren, Nalin Soren, Saryu Rai, Arjun Munda, C P Singh, Raghuvar Das, Dullu Mahato, Simon Marandi, Hemlal Murmu, Sukhdeo Bhagat, Geeta Shree Oraon, Sudesh Mahto, etc.

In Jammu and Kashmir, out of 87 assembly constituencies, 7 are reserved for SCs. There are no STs seats in J&K.

In Jharkhand, out of 81 assembly constituencies, 9 are reserved for SCs and 28 are reserved for STs.

Ahead of the counting, tight security arrangement has been made at the counting stations to ensure law and order.