EC announces bypoll to one RS seat each in Karnataka, UP


Election Commission File Photo, PTI

Election Commission File Photo, PTI

Bypolls in two Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh, which fell vacant recently will be held on December 12, the Election Commission announced on Thursday.

The Karnataka seat fell vacant after Congress member KC Ramamurthy resigned to join the BJP.

The seat from Uttar Pradesh fell vacant after Samajwadi Party member Tazeen Fatma resigned to contest the Rampur assembly bypoll, the seat once represented by her husband Azam Khan.

Khan had resigned from the Rampur assembly seat after he won the Lok Sabha polls.

While the tenure of Ramamurthy was to end on June 30, 2022, the term of Fatma was up to end on November 25, 2020.

The counting of votes will take place on December 12 after the polling concludes.