Elected members take oath but no end to protest in Rajya Sabha

SansadTV Bureau
New Delhi: Members protest in the well of the Rajya Sabha. PTI/RSTV

New Delhi: Members protest in the well of the Rajya Sabha.

The Upper House was adjourned for the day soon after new and re-elected members took oath as MPs from various parties, including Congress and TMC, trooped into the Well raising slogans in support of their demands.

The Upper House has not transacted substantial business ever since it met on March 5 for the second leg of the Budget session due to disruptions by different parties on matters like PNB fraud, Cauvery river water, and special status for Andhra Pradesh and apex court ruling on SC/ST Act.

Prior to the protest, 41 new and nominated members took oath of affirmation.

As soon as the oath of affirmation ended and Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu asked ministers to lay papers on the table of the House, the pandemonium broke out.

The Congress and the BSP accused the government of being “anti-Dalit”. TMC was protesting against bank frauds, while TDP members were demanding special status for Andhra Pradesh. KVP Ramachandra Rao of the Congress was also holding a placard demanding special status for Andhra Pradesh.

The two prominent Tamil parties were demanding constitution of the Cauvery Water Management Board for division of river water between Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. Amid sloganeering by protesting MPs, Naidu tried to bring order in the House.

As they did not yield, the Chairman adjourned the House for the day till Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley was once again appointed as the Leader of the Rajya Sabha following his re-election to the House.

The 65-year-old Jaitley’s term had ended yesterday. Upon re-election from Uttar Pradesh, he has again been named as Leader of the House, Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu said in the Rajya Sabha.

41 out of the 58 newly elected and re- elected members took oath on Tuesday.

(With inputs from PTI)