Election for Dy Chairman of Rajya Sabha to be held on August 9

SansadTV Bureau
File Photo of Rajya Sabha

File Photo of Rajya Sabha

The election to the post of Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha will be held at 11 am on August 9, Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu announced on Monday. Opposition parties held a meeting to finalise their strategy for the election of the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha.

Senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel, SP’s Ram Gopal Yadav, DMK’s Tiruchi Siva, BSP’s Satish Chandra Mishra, NCP’s Praful Patel, CPI’s D Raja, TMC’s Derek O’Brien, RJD’s Misa Bharti, CPI(M)’s T K Rangarajan and TDP’s C M Ramesh were among those who attended the meeting in Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad’s chamber in Parliament House.

NDA to back JDU MP Harivansh Narayan Singh for the post of Deputy Chairperson in the Rajya Sabha while opposition parties are yet to reveal their choice.

The nomination papers will have to be filed before noon on August 8, he said in the House soon after it assembled for the day.

The post of the Deputy Chairman has been lying vacant since June this year following the retirement of P J Kurien, who was elected to the Upper House of Parliament on a Congress ticket from Kerala.

He was later elected the Deputy Chairman during the UPA government’s tenure.

The BJP-led NDA government does not enjoy a majority in the House and would need the support of several regional parties to push for the election of its candidate.

(With agency inputs)