Filing of nominations for 3rd phase of Lok Sabha elections begins

SansadTV Bureau
Parliament of India (File Photo)

Parliament of India (File Photo)

Filing of nominations for the third phase of Lok Sabha elections to begin today.

Nominations will begin with the issue of notification. In the third phase, 115 constituencies spread over 14 States and Union Territories will go to polls on April 23.

The last date of filing of nominations for this phase is April 4. The scrutiny will take place on April 5, and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 8.

Voting will take place for 4 seats in Assam, 5 in Bihar, 7 in Chhattisgarh, 26 in Gujarat, 2 in Goa, 14 in Karnataka, 20 in Kerala, 14 in Maharashtra, 6 in Odisha, 10 in UP, 5 in West Bengal, one each in J&K, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

Political leaders like BJP president Amit Shah, Sambit Patra, Varun Gandhi, Jaya Prada, Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav and Congress leader Abhijit Mukherjee are among the candidates for this phase…

The Lok Sabha elections will start on April 11 and continue till May 19 in seven phases. The counting will be held on May 23.

Whereas in Odisha, the 3rd phase of nominations will begin for 42 Assembly segments.