Silvassa tops the final list of smart cities

RSTV Bureau
MoS Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Hardeep Singh Puri announces the final list of Smart Cities.

MoS Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Hardeep Singh Puri announces the final list of Smart Cities in New Delhi on January 19, 2018.

The union Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs on Friday announced the final list of smart cities in the Smart Cities Mission project, the flagship scheme of Narendra Modi government.

The 9 cities announced by MoS for Housing and Urban Affairs, Hardeep Singh Puri include Silvassa (Dadra and Nagar Haveli), Erode (Tamil Nadu), Diu (Daman and Diu), Bihar Sharif (Bihar), Bareilly (Uttar Pradesh), Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Moradabad (Uttar Pradesh), Saharanpur (Uttar Pradesh) and Kavaratti (Lakshadweep).

The 10th city on the list was not announced because Shillong (Meghalaya) hadn’t yet submitted its proposal. So one slot was kept aside for it.

“It is heartening to note that the winning cities have improved the quality of their Smart City Proposals by 19% (average) to become eligible for selection,” said the minister.

The 9 cities will have about 409 projects and a proposed an investment of ₹ 12,824 crores. The money will be spent on area-based development and pan-city initiatives, which will impact the living of 35.3 lakh people.

The urban transformation programme is aimed at developing 100 cities all over the country making them citizen friendly and sustainable.

The newly announced smart cities will have smart roads, rejuvenation of water bodies, cycle tracks, walking paths, smart classrooms, skill development centres, upgradation of health facilities, among other things.

The Smart Cities Mission was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on June 25, 2015. The Housing and Urban Affairs ministry has till now announced the names of 90 cities that the government aims to help under the scheme.

Under the scheme, each city will get Rs 500 crore as central assistance for implementing various projects.

The mission involves funding by the Centre and State governments, involving other stakeholders through joint ventures, subsidiaries, public-private partnership (PPP) and other contracts.

The first batch of 20 cities was announced from among nominated 98 cities in January 2016. Known as 20 Lighthouse Cities – Bhubaneswar topped the list followed by Pune, Jaipur, Surat and Kochi.

Lucknow, Bhagalpur, Faridabad, Chandigarh and Raipur were among the 13 cities in the second list. 27 cities were announced in this third list and they included Amritsar, Kalyan, Ujjain, Tirupati and Nagpur.

And 30 cities made it to the fourth list and these include Thiruvananthapuram, Naya Raipur, Rajkot, Amravati and Patna.

The minister also announced that the Ministry of Housing will undertake an Assessment of Livability Standards in 116 Indian cities. The assessment will be funded by World Bank.