Gujarat RS polls: Modi congratulates Shah & Irani

RSTV Bureau
Union minister Smriti Irani files her nomination for Rajya Sabha election from Gujarat, in Gandhinagar

Union minister Smriti Irani and BJP chief filing their her nominations for Rajya Sabha polls from Gujarat

BJP chief Amit Shah, union minister Smriti Irani and Congress leader Ahmed Patel won the Rajya Sabha polls from Gujarat. The results were declared late on Tuesday night after an evening of high drama.

Amit Shah made his debut to the Upper House and Smriti Irani got her second Rajya Sabha term from Gujarat. Congress veteran Ahmed Patel was reelected to the House for his fifth term.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today congratulated BJP chief Amit Shah and Union minister Smriti Irani on being elected to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat. Both Shah and Irani clinched 46 votes each.

The prime minister also congratulated Shah for completing three years as BJP chief and noted that the party’s base expanded during his tenure.

“Congratulations to Shri @AmitShah on completing 3 successful years as @BJP4India President,” the Prime Minister said in another tweet.

(With inputs from PTI)