Ghulam Nabi Azad back as LoP in Rajya Sabha

SansadTV Bureau

azadGhulam Nabi Azad was on Monday back as the Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha, days after his re-election to the house from Jammu and Kashmir.

Shri Azad took oath as a member of the Upper House along with three other members from the state — Mir Mohammad Fayaz and Nazir Ahmed Laway (both PDP) and Shamsher Singh Manhas (BJP).

Ghulam Nabi Azad, 65-year-old Congress leader from Jammu and Kashmir, has become member of the House for the fifth time.

His previous six-year term as Rajya Sabha member was to end this month and he was re-elected on February 8.

“I have recognised Ghulam Nabi Azad as the Leader of Opposition with effect from February 16, 2015, consequent upon his election to the Rajya Sabha from the state of Jammu and Kashmir,” Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari said.

He was first selected to Rajya Sabha in the year 1990.

While the two PDP members took oath in English, the BJP member from Jammu took oath in Dogri.

Soon after the oath-taking of new members, the copy of the President’s address to a joint sitting of both Houses today was laid on the table by the Secretary General.

Meanwhile, Congress members from Andhra Pradesh, including former Minister J D Seelam, were up on their feet demanding proper implementation of the AP Reorganisation Act after the bifurcation of the state.

Other Congress members from Andhra Pradesh T Subbarami Reddy and from Telangana Hanumanth Rao also got up to raise the issue of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, but were not allowed to speak by the Chairman.