House panel probing Mann gets two week extension

SansadTV Bureau

Lok-Sabha-Speaker-Aug-11The Lok Sabha panel probing the issue regarding AAP MP Bhagwant Mann shooting a controversial video of the Parliament complex would consult experts before deciding on the matter. Earlier, the panel also sought two more week time to arrive at the findings and the action warranted against the MP.

Granting the extension sought by the panel, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan also asked Bhagwant Mann not to attend the House till a decision was taken on the matter.

“The committee has gven him four opportunities to explain but contradictions were found in his stand. The committee is taking a serious view of it,” Lok Sabha panel head Kirit Somaya said outside Parliament.

“We also want to consult a few experts to suggest measures so that such an incident does not occur in future,” Somaya said.

Asked what maximum punishment can be given if Mann does not change his stand, he said the Speaker today gave two weeks more and “we will start the exercise of what could be done”.

Apprising over the deliberations in the probe panel, Somaya was also hopeful that they would be able to submit the report before the conclusion of the monsoon session on August 12. The nine-member committee, set up on July 25, was to submit its report by August 3.

Earlier, giving its decision on the request for extension as sought by the panel, the Lok Sabha Speaker said that in view of the gravity of the matter, the unanimous view among members of the committee was that for doing justice to the panel’s remit, it needed some more time.

“As earlier observed by me, in view of seriousness of the matter, Bhagwant Mann, MP is further advised not to attend the sittings of the House until a decision is taken in the matter,” Mahajan said in the house.

Besides Somaiya, the panel has two other BJP members — Meenakshi Lekhi and Satyapal Singh. The others are Anandrao Adsul (Shiv Sena), B Mahtab (BJD), Ratna De (TMC), Thota Narasimham (TDP), K C Venugopal (Cong) and P Venugopal (AIADMK).

(With inputs from the PTI)