ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 begins

RSTV Bureau
ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 begins today

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 begins today

Cricket’s biggest extravaganza ICC World Cup 2019 began at 3 pm Indian time. In the inaugural match, England opened the tournament against South Africa at The Oval in London.

India, the 1983 and 2011 world champions, will play their first match on June 5 against South Africa at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton.

Their match against arch-rivals Pakistan will be on June 16 at Old Trafford in Manchester.

Australia will launch their title defence on June 1 against the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier champions Afghanistan in a day/night match in Bristol.

The World Cup will span 48 matches in all, of which 45 will make up the group stage. Each team will play nine group stage matches, and the top four will progress to the semifinals, similar to how the 1992 World Cup was held.

(With inputs from agency)