India’s gold run continues at CWG; Leaders rejoice success

SansadTV Bureau


India’s spectacular gold run continued at the Commonwealth Games in Australia. On the 5th day on Monday, Jitu Rai won the gold in the Men’s 10 meter Air Pistol final. Om Mitharval has bagged the bronze. In Weightlifting, India’s Pradeep Singh got a silver in men’s 105-kilogram category. With this India has bagged 8 golds in the event so far and has climbed to the third position.

Five-time world champion MC Mary Kom has assured herself of a medal on debut at the ongoing Commonwealth Games. The 35-year-old Olympic bronze-medallist entered the semi-finals in Gold Coast with a 5-0 win over Scotland’s Megan Gordon. Her win has assured the Indian boxing contingent of its first CWG medal.

President Ram Nath Kovind, Prime Minister Modi and Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu have congratulated the Indian contingent for its splendid run at the games.

President took to twitter to congratulate the winners saying India is proud of their achievements.

“BANG ON TARGET…another double strike by our shooters at #GC2018!! @JituRai bags GOLD and Om Prakash Mitharval wins BRONZE in Men’s 10m Air Pistol..we are proud of you #PresidentKovind,” the President tweeted.
Prime Minister Modi also took to twitter to say the nation is delighted at the accomplishments of the Indian athletes

“Supremely talented and on the mark! Well done Om Mitharval for the Bronze in the men’s 10m Air Pistol event. Your performance makes us very happy,” he said in a tweet.

“India lauds Apurvi Chandela for securing the Bronze in the women’s 10m Air Rifle event. It is amazing to see Apurvi emerge as one of India’s finest shooters,” the Prime Minister said in other tweet congratulating shooter Apurvi Chandela.

Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu also complimented on achievements of Indian sportspersons.

“My congratulations to Weightlifter Punam Yadav for winning gold for India, in the women’s 69 kg category at the CWG 2018,” the Vice President said in a back to back tweet.

“Hearty congratulations to Indian women table tennis team for winning a historic maiden gold at Commonwealth Games. Congratulations to Manu Bhakra too for winning gold in 10m pistol,” he said.