Inter-State Council reconstituted with PM Modi as chairman

RSTV Bureau
File photo: Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

File photo: Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The Inter-State Council, which is mandated to investigate and advise on disputes between states, has been reconstituted with Prime Minister Narendra Modi as its chairman. Members of the council include six union ministers and chief ministers of all states and union territories.

Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari, Thaawar Chand Gehlot and Nirmala Sitharaman are part of the council.

Eight other union ministers have been made permanent invitees to the council. They are Suresh Prabhu, Ramvilas Paswan, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Jual Oram, Prakash Javadekar, Dharmendra Pradhan and Piyush Goyal.

The Article 263 of the Constitution provides for the establishment of an Inter-State Council which is mandated to inquire into and advise upon disputes which may arise between states, investigate and discuss subjects in which some or all of the states, or the Union and one or more of the states, have a common interest.

The council is also tasked with giving recommendations on any disputes and recommendations for the better coordination of policy and action.

The notification also said that the government reconstituted the Standing Committee of the Inter-State Council to be chaired by Home Minister Rajnath Singh. Four union ministers and seven chief ministers are members of the new Standing Committee of the council.

The Standing Committee will have consultation and recommend matters for consideration of the council, process all matters pertaining to Centre-state relations before they are taken up for consideration in the council, said the notification.

The Standing Committee will also monitor the implementation of decisions taken on the recommendations of the council and consider any other matter referred to it.

(With inputs from PTI)