Jharkhand Assembly: Polling ends for 20 seats of 2nd phase


File photo: Polling photo (PTI Photo)

File photo: Polling photo (PTI Photo)

As the voting came to an end for the second phase of Jharkhand assembly polls, the estimated voter turn out till 5 pm was recorded at 62.40 per cent.

The second phase of polling began this morning on 20 constituencies in Jharkhand, which votes in five phases to elect 81 members of the legislative assembly.

The voting commenced at 7 am, amidst a tight security arrangement.

While the voting exercise in 18 seats ended at 3 pm, voters in Jamshedpur (East) and Jamshedpur (West) constituencies voted till 5 pm.

Out of a total of 6,066 polling stations, 949 have been declared ‘critical’ and 762 ‘sensitive’ in Naxal-affected areas, Jharkhand Chief Electoral Officer Vinay Kumar Choubey said.

The CEO said that 101 polling stations were relocated due to security reasons and free transport facility has been arranged for voters to reach these stations to exercise their franchise.

A total 1,016 polling stations were located in towns and cities while 5,050 are in rural areas.

Webcasting facilities were made available at 1,662 polling stations, the CEO said.

Out of the total polling stations, there are 337 model polling stations and 94 polling stations will be overseen by women polling personnel, Choubey said.

A total 48,25,038 voters, including 23,93,437 female and 90 third gender voters, are eligible to vote to decide the fate of 260 candidates, including 29 women nominees and 73 independents, he said.

The assembly segments that went for polls were: Baharagora, Ghatsila (ST), Potka (ST), Jugsalai (SC), Jamshedpur (East), Jamshedpur (West), Seraikela (ST), Chaibasa (ST), Majhgaon (ST), Jaganathpur (ST), Manoharpur (ST), Chakradharpur (ST), Kharsawan (ST), Tamar (ST), Torpa (ST), Khunti (ST), Mandar (ST), Sisai (ST), Simdega (ST) and Kolebira (ST).

BJP leader and Chief Minister Raghubar Das is facing challenge from his former cabinet colleague and independent candidate Saryu Roy from Jamshedpur (East) seat.

The first phase of the five-phase polling for thirteen constituencies had concluded on November 30.

The rest of the three phases will be held on December 12, 16 and 20.

Counting will take place on December 23.