Jharkhand Polls: Counting of votes for 81 Assembly seats underway

RSTV Bureau
A security jawan guards at a counting centre. (PTI Photo)

A security jawan guards at a counting centre. (PTI Photo)

The counting of votes for 81 Jharkhand Assembly seats, which went to polls in five phases from November 30 to December 20, is underway.

Counting began at 8 in the morning.

Three-tier security arrangements have been made for all counting centres. Jawans of central paramilitary forces will be deployed at all counting centres.

Counting centres have been set up in all the 24 district headquarters of the state. Postal ballots will be counted first followed by votes of EVMs.

Micro observers have been deployed for each counting centre. Agents of different political parties will also be there during counting.

The final result will be declared after the counting of slips of five VVPATs which will be randomly selected for each Assembly constituency.

In 2014, the BJP had won 37 seats, while its ally AJSU secured a win in five Assembly seats.