Karnataka: 25 ministers take oath in first cabinet expansion

RSTV Bureau
Karnatka CM HD Kumaraswamy (File photo)

Karnatka CM HD Kumaraswamy (File photo)

25 MLAs of the ruling coalition took oath as the ministers of state cabinet on Wednesday. Fourteen ministers are from the Congress, nine from its ruling coalition partner JDS and one each from other two partners — BSP and the KPJP.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

The cabinet expansion was carried out two weeks after Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy took charge. The portfolios were finalised after meeting between Rahul Gandhi and its senior state leaders.

Gandhi held long deliberations with former chief minister Siddharamaiah, deputy chief minister G Parameswara and senior party leaders DK Shivakumar and Dinesh Gundu Rao, along with AICC general secretary in-charge of Karnataka affairs KC Venugopal.

HD Revanna, son of former prime minister and JDS chief HD Deve Gowda and state senior Congress leaders DK Shivakumar were among those who took the oath. Congress MLC Jayamala was the lone woman minister.

JDS’ GT Deve Gowda, who had emerged as a giant killer defeating former chief minister Siddaramaiah in Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru in the assembly polls was also inducted.

Under the power sharing arrangement, Congress will have 22 ministers and the JDS 12.

With today’s expansion, the strength of the ministry has gone up to 27, leaving seven more vacancies to be filled.

JDS and Congress had stitched up a post-poll alliance at the state level after the May 12 assembly polls yielded a fractured mandate, with BJP emerging as the single largest party with 104 members, falling short of the required numbers.

(With agency inputs)