Karnataka: BJP emerges single largest party but falls short of majority

SansadTV Bureau


BJP emerged as a single largest party in Karnataka assembly with a combined leads and win on 104 seats, a tally well ahead of Congress’s 78 but short of magic mark of 112 in a current 222-member house. The elections on remaining two seats have been postponed.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked the voters for “steadfastly supporting” the BJP’s development agenda and making it the single largest party.

“I thank my sisters and brothers of Karnataka for steadfastly supporting the BJP’s development agenda and making BJP the single largest party in the state. I salute the stupendous work of @BJP4Karnataka (state party unit) karyakartas who toiled round the clock and worked for the party,” he said in a tweet.

As per the current tally at 7 PM, BJP has won 97 seats and is leading on 7 more seats, the Congress has won 76 seats and is ahead on 2 seats. While, JD(S) won 37 seats, regional outfit KPJP, Mayawati’s BSP a seat each and independent candidate is ahead in one seat each.

BSP contested this poll in a pre-poll tie-up with the JDS.

A party has to secure 112 seats for a simple majority in the Assembly. Though Karnataka has a 224-member lower house, polling was held for 222 seats. Polling was deferred for the RR Nagar seat on account of alleged electoral malpractices, it was countermanded in Jayanagar following the death of the BJP candidate.

In terms of the vote share, Congress has emerged on the top with 38%, while BJP is close with 36.2% as per the latest count. That of JD(S) is howering at 18.4%.

The elections, though, saw the ouster of Congress party from the last big state it was holding though it is now in fray to be a part of ruling coalition with the JDS. Even outgoing chief minister Siddaramaiah lost from Chamundeshwari in Mysuru by over 33,000 votes against his JD(S) rival G T Deve Gowda.

He, however, clung on to retain Badami in north Karnataka in the see-saw battle against BJP’s B Sreeramulu, a Lok Sabha MP. On the other hand, BS Yeddyurappa win pocket borough Shikaripura seat for the seventh time.

The polling was held on 222 seats on May 12.