Last day of nominations for Maharashtra and Haryana assembly polls

RSTV Bureau
Election Commission File Photo, PTI

Election Commission File Photo, PTI

The filing of nominations for assembly elections in Maharashtra and Haryana ended on Friday evening. The scrutiny will take place on 5th October.

The candidates can withdraw their nomination till the 7th of this month. The polling will be held on October 21 and the counting of votes will take place on the 24th of October.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and NCP leader Ajit Pawar were among the prominent Maharashtra candidates who filed nominations for the October 21 Assembly polls on Friday, the last day to submit the papers.

Fadnavis, the first BJP chief minister of the state, filed his papers from the Nagpur South-West constituency. He was accompanied by Union minister Nitin Gadkari and Maharashtra minister and state BJP chief Chandrakant Patil.

Pawar filed nomination from the Baramati segment he currently represents in the assembly. The former Maharashtra deputy chief minister is pitted against BJP’s Gopichand Padalkar in Baramati in Pune district.

Many political faces in Maharashtra filed their nominations yesterday. While Maharashtra BJP President Chandrakant Patil filed his nomination from Kothrud constituency in Pune, Aditya Thackeray from Shiv Sena, the first in his family to contest polls, filed his nomination from Worli.

Many sitting ministers from the BJP, including Pankaja Munde, Girish Mahajan, Suresh Khade and Subhash Deshmukh filed their papers from their respective constituencies.

Former Chief Minister and Congress candidate Prithviraj Chavan from Karad South and the Deshmukh brothers, sitting MLA Amit and new entrant Dhiraj Deshmukh too filed their nominations from two seats in Latur district.

The BJP on Friday released its fourth list of seven candidates for the October 21 Maharashtra Assembly polls, dropping senior leader Eknath Khadse and cabinet minister Vinod Tawde.

It fielded Eknath Khadse’s daughter Rohini from his Muktainagar constituency in north Maharashtra.

Power Minister Chandrashekar Bawankule, senior leaders Prakash Mehta and Raj Purohit also don’t figure in the list.

The party dropped Tawde, who holds the school education portfolio in the outgoing BJP-led government, and fielded Sunil Rane from his Borivali seat in Mumbai.

Purohit, the sitting MLA from Colaba in south Mumbai, has been replaced with Rahul Narvekar, son-in-law of Ramraje Nimbalkar, the Maharashtra Legislative Council chairman.

Narvekar, a former NCP MLC, joined the BJP recently.

Parag Shah is the BJP candidate in place of Mehta, a former minister, from Ghatkopar (East) in Mumbai.

The BJP has so far declared candidates on 150 seats in the state which has a 288-member assembly.

The BJP and Shiv Sena are the main constituents of the ruling alliance in Maharashtra. However, they have still not officially declared their seat-sharing formula.

The Congress fielded former BJP MLA Ashish Deshmukh as its candidate from the Nagpur South West seat against Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

The name of Deshmukh, who is a strong supporter of the demand for a separate state of Vidarbha, was announced in the list of 19 candidates finalised on Thursday night.

The BJP has fielded the daughter of its senior Maharashtra leader Eknath Khadse from his Muktainagar constituency as it released its fourth list of candidates for the state assembly polls.

The BJP and the Shiv Sena are the main constituents of the ruling alliance in Maharashtra, which goes to polls on October 21.

Haryana minister Captain Abhimanyu, Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala and INLD’s Abhay Singh Chautala were among the 475 candidates who filed their nominations on Thursday, the penultimate day of filing papers for the state assembly polls.

Among others who filed their nominations were Haryana BJP chief Subhash Barala, Haryana ministers Kavita Jain, O P Dhankar and ruling party candidate sportsperson-turned-politician Babita Phogat.

Seventy candidates filed their nomination papers on Tuesday, the third day of filing of papers. Thirty-one nominations were filed on Monday and on the first day ten candidates had filed their papers.

The process of filing the nominations started on September 27 and will continue till October 4. Nomination papers were not filed on October 2 as it was a public holiday. Polls to the 90-member Assembly will be held on October 21 while results will be declared on October 24.