Devendra Fadnavis, Ajit Pawar resign hours after SC orders floor test


File photo: Devendra Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar

File photo: Devendra Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis announced his resignation on Tuesday afternoon, hours after Supreme Court ordered a floor test in the Maharashtra Assembly on Wednesday.

Devendra Fadnavis on Tuesday said he is resigning after his government lost majority following Dy CM Ajit Pawar quitting his post.

After the Supreme Court ordered that a floor test should be conducted in the Maharashtra Assembly tomorrow, Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar put in his papers today. Both Devendra Fadnavis and Pawar were sworn-in as the CM and deputy chief minister, respectively, of the state on Saturday morning.

Ajit Pawar had supported BJP as leader of the 54-member NCP legislature party and with his resignation earlier in the day, the government has lost majority.

“We don’t have majority after Ajit Pawar’s resignation as Dy CM,” Fadnavis said. “I will be submitting my resignation to the governor,” Devendra Fadnavis said.

Fadnavis says BJP will become the voice of the people as a responsible opposition. “We won’t indulge in horse-trading,” he added.

Asked if he thought Ajit Pawar extending support to the BJP was a strategy of NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Fadnavis said, “Sharad Pawar will be able to comment on this issue”. “Ajit Pawar told me he was quitting due to personal reasons,” Fadnavis said.

Maharashtra Assembly poll mandate was more for BJP than Shiv Sena, Fadnavis said.

Earlier Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar had resigned.

“Ajit dada has resigned and he is with us. Uddhav Thackeray will be the Chief Minister of Maharashtra for five years,” Raut said.

In a dramatic twist to political events in Maharashtra, the BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis was sworn in by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari as the next Chief Minister early on Saturday morning, Ajit Pawar as his deputy.

The Supreme Court on Tuesday directed that a floor test for Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis to prove his majority in the Assembly be conducted on Wednesday.

The BJP and the Sena, which fought the last month’s Assembly polls in an alliance, secured a comfortable majority by winning 105 and 56 seats respectively.

The Sena, however, broke its three-decade-long ties with the BJP after the latter declined to share the chief minister’s post.

The NCP and Congress won 54 and 44 seats respectively.