Massive victory for Jayalalithaa in bypolls

RSTV Bureau

Jaya-by-poll-winAIADMK chief Jayalalithaa made a stunning comeback to the Tamil Nadu Assembly. The Tamil Nadu CM recorded a massive win in the RK Nagar bypoll, winning the seat by 1,50,722 votes.

88.43 per cent of the electorate voted for Jayalalithaa and her nearest rival, CPI leader, C Mahendran had to forfeit his deposit for the polls.

Jayalalithaa thanked the people for voting for her.

“It is a historic win, I assure that I will tirelessly work to fulfil the voters’ expectations and needs,” she said.

She also promised her supporters that her party was poised for a similar landslide win in next year’s assembly polls.

The by-election was held after AIADMK leader P Vetrivel vacated his seat in May to enable Jayalalithaa’s re-election.

Jayalalithaa had to fulfil the constitutional requirement of getting elected as an MLA within six months of taking oath as CM after her acquittal in the disproportionate assets case.

Party workers across the state celebrated Amma’s victory by distributing sweets and playing songs from MGR’s films.

However this euphoria could be shortlived if the Supreme Court rules against the Karnataka High Court order when it hears a plea against her acquittal next week.

Bypolls were held for 5 other seats in 4 states.

In Kerala, the Congress-led UDF government won the Aruvikkara bypoll with a margin of over 10,128 votes.

KS Sabarinadhan defeated his nearest rival M Vijayakumar of the LDF led by CPI(M). CM Oommen Chandy said the UDF was slated for a historic win in upcoming polls next year.

“They raised mere allegations. They could not convince the electorate or fight it legally. Personally, if there was even one per cent of truth in the allegations, I am of the opinion that I have no right to continue in office,” Chandy said.

Opposition leader, VS Achuthanandan alleged that the UDF won only because it appeased the minority, which the BJP took advantage of. He also slammed the UDF of making crores of rupees through corrupt deals.

CPI-M finished second with 46,320 votes and BJP followed with 34,145 votes.

The outcome is a big relief for the four-year-old UDF government as the opposition had used every opportunity to corner the government on the solar and bar bribery scams.

A shot in the arm for the ruling Congress in Meghalaya was well. Party won the Chokpot seat by a margin of 2,550 votes. Congress candidate Blubell R Sangma, wife of former legislator Mason S Sangma, defeated rival Philipole Marak of National People’s Party.

Blubell R Sangma secured 8,042 votes while Philipole Marak managed only 5,492 votes, said the election office.

Over 83 per cent voters had come out to vote in the bypolls on Saturday.

In neighbouring Tripura where polling took place for two seats, the ruling CPI(M) won both the Pratapgarh (SC) and Surma (SC) Assembly seats by a huge margin.

Only a minor gain for the BJP in these bypolls. The party retained the Garoth Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh’s Mandsaur district but only with a reduced margin.

The Congress termed BJP’s win as a “moral defeat” for the ruling party in the state.

BJP candidate Chander Singh Sisodia won by defeating Congress’ Subhash Kumar Sojatia with a margin of 12,945 votes, an election officer said.

Madhya Pradesh’s BJP unit spokesman Vishwas Sarang said it was a victory of the policies of PM Narendra Modi and CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan.