Mizoram sees end of sixth Governor in nine months

RSTV Bureau

With the sacking of Aziz Qureshi, the north-eastern state of Mizoram is turning out to be a waterloo for Governors after the Narendra Modi government assumed office with six of them exiting in just nine months.

74-year-old Qureshi, who has dragged the Centre to Supreme Court over the issue of removal of Governors, was on Saturday sacked by President Pranab Mukherjee.

Qureshi had taken over as the Governor of Mizoram on 9th January after being transferred from Uttarakhand and had a tenure upto May 2017.

The jinx with the gubernatorial post in Mizoram began in July last year when V Purushottam, who was transferred to neighbouring Nagaland by the NDA government, quit saying that he had not been consulted.

This was followed by transfer of 87-year-old Kamla Beniwal from Gujarat to Mizoram. She took over as the 12th Governor on July 6 but the tenure remained short-lived as she was sacked by the Government for alleged impropriety, a charge denied by her, exactly a month later. She had two months of her tenure left.

Beniwal had served in Gujarat earlier and had a running battle with PM Narendra Modi when he was the state’s chief minister.

This was followed by transfer of Maharashtra Governor K Sankaranarayanan to Mizoram. He, however, refused to take charge and quit soon after his transfer order was issued on August 24 last.

Former Union Home Secretary V K Duggal, who was the then governor of Manipur, was given the additional charge of Mizoram. His tenure was short-lived thereafter only for 20 days as he too quit on August 28.

K K Paul was given the additional charge of Mizoram along with Meghalaya till he was transferred to Uttarakhand to replace Qureshi.