Monsoon session ends: Both Houses of Parliament adjourn sine die

SansadTV Bureau
Image: PTI

Image: PTI

The monsoon session of Parliament came to an end on Friday with both the Houses adjourned sine die. The monsoon session which commenced on July 18, 2018, concluded on August 10, 2018.

During the Session, 22 Bills (21 in the Lok Sabha and 1 in the Rajya Sabha) were introduced. The Lok Sabha passed 21 Bills and while the Rajya Sabha passed 14 Bills during the session.

This has been an achievement considering that it was a short session of Parliament and a considerable time was devoted to discussions on issues of national importance and the election to the office of the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha.  Harivansh Narayan Singh was elected as Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha.

Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu said that session’s productivity was 74 percent, three times that of last budget session. He also said that total time spent on discussing bills was 27 hours accounting for 30 percent of the total time.

RS Chairman also said that 102 notices received online since introduction of e-notice facility this session.

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said the session has been the “more productive and safisfactory” compared to the previous Budget Session and last year’s monsoon session.

The monsoon session of Parliament commenced on July 18, which also witnessed a no-confidence motion moved by the opposition against the government. However, the motion was later defeated.

(With agency inputs)