Monsoon Session of Parl from July 17 to Aug 11

RSTV Bureau

Master-Shot-of-Rajya-Sabha---Nov-27,-2015The Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs chaired by Home Minister Rajnath Singh, met on Friday evening to decide the upcoming Monsoon session dates. The session will begin on July 17 and end on August 11, said sources in the committee.

The monsoon session of Parliament will commence on July 17, the day voting for the presidential election will take place.

The session comes at a time when the ruling BJP’s morale will be high after it launches the much-awaited Goods and Services Tax. GST will formally come into force on the midnight June 30 and July 1.

The House may not function on the first day of the session on account of death of two sitting MPs — Lok Sabha member Vinod Khanna and Rajya Sabha member Pallavi Reddy.

(With inputs from PTI)