Parliament’s Monsoon Session begins amid brief uproar

RSTV Bureau
Photo: PTI

Photo: PTI

The Monsoon Session of Parliament began on Wednesday witnessing brief adjournment in Rajya Sabha and opposition protest in Lok Sabha. The session will have a total of 18 sittings in this session that will conclude on August 10. Total of 48 items including 46 bills and two financial items are slated to be taken up during the session.

Lok Sabha proceedings began on a stormy note amid sloganeering and protests in the Well even as the House went ahead with the Question Hour.

As soon as Speaker Sumitra Mahajan took up the Question Hour, members from Opposition parties, including the Congress wanted to raise various issues, while the members from the TDP and the SP trooped into the Well.

The Speaker, however, kept seeking order in the house and went ahead with the Question Hour. “I won’t allow…,” she said even as many members continued to raise slogans. At the Zero Hour, the Speaker admitted the notices of no-trust motion moved by the Opposition parties.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was seen greeting the members before the proceedings began in the Lower House.

Meanwhile, the Upper House too saw a bit of protest after which the house was adjourned briefly till noon.

The house, however, has been transacting business smoothly ever since after the assuring word from the Chairman that each member will get opportunity to speak and raise issues, as per the rules.

Among the legislative business, the Triple Talaq Bill, which has been passed by the Lok Sabha and is pending in the Rajya Sabha, will be among the top priorities of the govt.

Six bills replacing ordinances namely; The Fugitive Economic Offenders Ordinance, The Criminal Law (Amendment) Ordinance,  The Commercial Courts, Commercial Division and Commercial Appellate Division of High Courts (Amendment) Ordinance, The Homoeopathy Central Council (Amendment) Ordinance, The National Sports University Ordinance, and The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Ordinance, are required to be passed during the ensuing Monsoon Session.

Election to choose the deputy chairman for the Rajya Sabha will also be taken up in this session. The post for deputy chairman of RS fell vacant after PJ Kurien’s retirement.