Nagaland: BJP-NDPP alliance ahead, Set to form govt

RSTV Bureau


The BJP-NDPP alliance is set to form the next government in Nagaland, scoring ahead of Naga People’s Front alliance by a thin margin.

While both the formations NDPP-BJP and NPF-NPP were tied at 29 seats, the NDPP-BJP won the support from lone Independent legislator Tongpang Ozukum and JDU MLA Kaito taking their collective tally to 31.

Rajya Sabha TV has learnt from sources that both the MLAs have given their letter of support backing the NDPP-BJP alliance.

Voting for the 59 seats in the 60-member Assembly was held on February 27 as NDPP chief Neiphiu Rio was elected uncontested from Northern Angami II seat.

Former Chief Minister and Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF) candidate TR Zeliang retained his Peren constituency defeating his nearest NDPP rival Iherie Ndang by 5,432 votes. Zeliang bagged 14,064 votes while Ndang of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party secured 8,632 votes.

In the last Assembly election in 2013, Zeliang had won the seat by a margin of 2,636 votes.

Since 2003, the NPF-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) has been in power, with NPP and other smaller regional parties.

BJP and NDPP cobbled alliance was in January 2018 after former Chief Minster Neiphiu Rio officially quit the NPF for the NDPP. He formed a new party, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP). The BJP too ended its 15-year alliance with the NPF and joined hands with the NDPP.

(With inputs from Panchanan Mishra and Tracy Shilshi)