Narayanasamy sworn in as Puducherry Chief Minister

RSTV Bureau
Puducherry Lt Governor Kiran Bedi greets CM Narayanasamy after administering oath. Credit: Twitter/thekiranbedi

Puducherry Lt Governor Kiran Bedi greets CM Narayanasamy after administering oath.
Photo credit: thekiranbedi/Twitter

The Congress Legislature Party leader V Narayanasamy was sworn-in as Puducherry Chief Minister in Puducherry’s Raj Nivas on Monday. Puducherry Lt Governor Kiran Bedi administered the swearing in ceremony to Narayanasamy and five of his Congress legislators as ministers.

“Congratulations to CM, V. Narayanswami. Shall work together to make #PuducherryProsperous: Prepare for decades ahead,” said Lt Governor Kiran Bedi on Twitter

69-year-old Narayanasamy previously served as Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office during UPA-2 government. He did not contest the May 16 assembly polls and will now have to seek election to the legislature in a bypoll.

Narayanasamy had called on Bedi at Raj Nivas on May 30 and staked claim to form the ministry. He had also presented to Bedi letters of the Congress legislators and also DMK, expressing support to his leadership.

Lt Governor had invited Narayanasamy to form the government after Union Home Ministry approved Narayanasamy’s letter staking claim to form the government.

Narayanasamy had also submitted to Bedi the names of the Congress legislators to be his cabinet colleagues.

There was stiff competition between Narayanasamy and PCC president A Namassivayam, who was elected for a second consecutive term, for the post of Chief Minister, but the former emerged the unanimous choice at the CLP meeting.

The two were camping in Delhi after the poll results were announced holding talks with the party high command, and there was delay in ministry formation because of the tussle.

Congress had secured 15 seats of the 21 seats it contested while its ally the DMK got hold of two seats in the assembly polls, ending the five-year government of the AINRC.

Narayanasamy was elected as the leader of the 15-member Congress Legislature party on May 28. The party has the support of two DMK legislators in the 30-member Assembly.