Nearly three lakh affected by Assam flood

SansadTV Bureau

guwahati_floodsNearly three lakh people have been affected by floods in Assam which has claimed seven lives and has hit 15 districts of the state.

According to a release issued by the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) on Sunday, 2.87 lakh people have been affected across 1,066 villages in 15 districts in the state and 90,867 hectares of cropland have been affected.

“Seven persons have died in the current wave of flood, one each in Lakhimpur, Dhubri, Nalbari, Golaghat and Barpeta and two in Morigaon,” the release said.

The authorities have evacuated altogether 2,424 marooned people to safer places and 118 relief camps have been opened, providing shelter to 95,922 inmates, the release said.

Already, embankments across the state have suffered 15 breaches. These have occurred on Ranganadi River in Lakhimpur, Solengi, Brahmajan and Sessa in Sonitpur, Mora Pagladiya in Nalbari and Pahumara in Barpeta; besides those in Dhemaji district.

The Brahmaputra and tributaries are flowing above the danger level at Nematighat in Jorhat, Dhubri, Dibrugarh, the statement said.

Meanwhile, Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi directed the Revenue and Disaster Management Department to rescue the marooned people and to gear up relief and rehabilitation of the affected people on a war-footing.

Gogoi asked Chief Secretary Jitesh Khosla and Additional Chief Secretary (Revenue and Disaster Management) Subhash Chandra Das to take all possible measures to rescue the marooned people and to step up relief and rehabilitation measures across the state, the release said.

The Chief Minister also directed the Water Resources Department to take up immediate anti-erosion measures, especially in the breached embankments.

Meanwhile, at least 65 villages in the world’s largest river island Majuli were submerged in flood waters caused by Brahmaputra, officials said.

The authority has asked people to commute by road via Saraighat bridge on Brahmaputra.

Meanwhile, Majuli SDO(Civil) Loya Madhuri said prohibitory orders under Section 144 have been imposed on ferry services between Nematighat and Majuli.

“Sometimes some local country boats commute with a large number of people secretly. So to stop them, we have imposed Section 144 on ferry services on Brahmaputra,” she added.

The 15 flood-affected districts are Dhemaji, Jorhat, Dibrugarh, Golaghat, Sivasagar, Sonitpur, Lakhimpur, Nalbari, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Morigaon, Kamrup, Dhubri, Kokrajhar and Karbi Anglong.