New members take oath in Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha

RSTV Bureau

Parliament of India

Writer and RSS ideologue Rakesh Sinha, classical dancer Sonal Mansingh and sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra were among the seven new members of Rajya Sabha who took oath of office on the first day of Monsoon Session.

Along with them, former BJP lawmaker Ram Shakal took the oath or affirmation of allegiance to the Consitution. Sinha, Mansingh, Mohapatra and Shakal were last week nominated to the Upper House.

Mansingh, who is among the foremost Indian classical dancers and performs Bharatnatyam and Odissi, took oath in Hindi, while internationally renowned authority on stone carving and architect, Mohapatra, took oath in Odia.

Rakesh Sinha, who is the founder and honorary director of the Delhi-based think tank India Policy Foundation, and Ram Shakal took oath in Hindi.

Also taking oath were three newly elected members from Kerala – CPI(M) leader and CITU state general secretary Elamaram Kareem, CPI’s Binoy Viswam and Jose K Mani of Kerala Congress (Mani).

The newly elected members after taking oath went up to Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu who warmly welcomed them.

In Lok Sabha, four new members — Kukade Madhukarrao Yashwantrao (NCP), Gavit Rajendra Dhedya (BJP), Tokheho (NDPP) and Tabassum Begum (RLD) took oath of office.