Nominations for Rajya Sabha end… Election on June 11

SansadTV Bureau

The deadline to file nominations for the biennial elections of Rajya Sabha has ended today. Leaders nominated by all parties have submitted their nomination forms for the 57 seats that due for polling on June 11.

Several senior leaders of both national and regional parties filed papers on the last day.

Nirmala Sitharaman files her nomination papers  for Rajya Sabha polls in presence of Karnataka BJP President B S Yeddyurappa and Union Minister Ananth Kumar in Bengaluru. Photo-PTI

Nirmala Sitharaman files her nomination papers for Rajya Sabha polls in Bengaluru. Photo-PTI


Minister of State (Independent Charge) for the Ministry of Commerce & Industry filed her nomination from Karnataka. Seetharaman was accompanied by BJP state President B S Yeddyurappa, Union Minister Ananth Kumar and Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Jagadish Shettar.

Speaking to reporters in Bangalore, Seetharaman said she will work hard to ensure Karnataka’s interest in the Parliament.

“I will make sure that the interest of Karnataka will be ensured in the Parliament. I’m going to be a servant here being sent by honourable Prime Minister who calls himself Pradhan Sevak. I will be also a sevak, and because I will have to represent Karnataka,” she added.

Three Congress candidates including former Union ministers Jairam Ramesh, Oscar Fernandes and former IPS officer K C Ramamurthy and B M Farooq of Janata Dal (Secular) had already yesterday filed their nominations.


Senior Advocate RK Anand and businessman Subhash Chandra filed their nomination papers as Independent candidates for the second Rajya Sabha seat falling vacant from Haryana.

RK Anand was accompanied by the Leader of the Opposition in the Haryana Assembly Abhay Chautala (INLD), Chandra went with some BJP and Independent MLAs for filing the papers.

File Photo of Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, Minister for Railways. Photo-PIB

File Photo of Railway Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu Photo-PIB

Andhra Pradesh

Railway minister Suresh Prabhu was successful in taking TDP on board and filed his papers in the state Assembly.  Union Minister of State for Science and Technology Y Satyanarayana Chowdary and former state minister T G Venkatesh also filed their nominations as TDP candidates for two Rajya Sabha seats.

With its combined strength of 108 in the 176-member AP Assembly, the TDP-BJP combine can comfortably bag three seats while the Opposition YSRC can get one.

On the opposition’s behalf, YSRC general secretary V Vijaysai Reddy has already filed his nomination.


Congress leader P Chidambaram files nomination for Rajya Sabha in presence of party leaders Prithviraj Chavan, Sushilkumar Shinde and Ashok Chavan, at Vidhan Bhavan in Mumbai. Photo-PTI

Congress leader P Chidambaram files nomination for Rajya Sabha in presence of party leaders in Mumbai. Photo-PTI

Senior Congress leader and former Union Finance minister P Chidambaram filed his nomination papers from Maharashtra.

He was accompanied by former state Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan, MPCC president Ashok Chavan, former Union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde.

Madhya Pradesh

BJP national spokesperson M J Akbar and senior party leader Anil Madhav Dave today filed their nomination papers here for the biennial elections to Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh.

Both Akbar and Dave filed their nomination papers in the presence of state Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, MP BJP chief Nandkumar Singh Chouhan, Cabinet colleagues and several MLAs.

BJP Candidates M.J. Akbar (centre) and Anil Madhav Dave (Left) in the presence of the state chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Right) file their nomination papers for Rajya Sabha polls at Madhya Pradesh Assembly in Bhopal. Photo-PTI

BJP candidates M.J. Akbar and Anil Madhav Davefile their nomination papers for Rajya Sabha polls in Bhopal. Photo-PTI

“I am grateful to the BJP’s leadership for giving party nomination to a renowned journalist and also to our key organiser and noted environmentalist, Dave) from Madhya Pradesh. Dave had done a commendable job for the conservation of river Narmada in the state and is a different kind of social-political worker, “said Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Chauhan.

Dave is re-nominated for the Rajya Sabha seat from Madhya Pradesh while MJ Akbar, who represented Jharkhand last time, is fielded from MP. Congress has already fielded senior lawyer Vivek Tankha as its candidate for the RS biennial polls

The biennial elections to 57 seats in Rajya Sabha are necessitated as 55 members from 15 states are retiring between June and August. The scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on June 1 while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 3. Polling for Rajya Sabha election, if necessary, will be held on June 11 and counting of votes will be at 5 PM on the same day.