Newly elected/nominated/re-nominated Members of Rajya Sabha take oath/affirmation

SansadTV Bureau

The newly elected Members of Rajya Sabha in the recently held Biennial election from the State of Kerala and the newly nominated/re-nominated Members were administered oath/affirmation today in the Chamber of the Rajya Sabha. Due to the ongoing pandemic, administration of oath was done in the chamber of the Rajya Sabha for the fourth time during inter-session. The following Members took oath today:


1. Shri John Brittas

2. Dr V. Sivadasan


3. Shri Swapan Dasgupta

4. Shri Mahesh Jethmalani

Shri John Brittas and Dr V. Sivadasan have been elected to the Rajya Sabha for the first term. Among the nominated members, Shri Swapan Dasgupta has been re-nominated to Rajya Sabha while Shri Mahesh Jethmalani has been nominated to the Rajya Sabha for the first time.

Shri Naidu welcomed the newly elected/nominated/re-nominated Members of the Rajya Sabha and conveyed his best wishes after they had taken the oath.

Shri Naidu stated that holding a public office is a 24×7 responsibility which entails a never ending accountability towards the citizens of the country. People have a lot of expectations from the Members and as their representatives, it is the bounden duty of the Members to voice concerns as well as aspirations of the people through various parliamentary devices from the floor of this august institution.

Shri Naidu advised the Members to maintain high standards of conduct in public life befitting the decency, dignity and decorum of this ‘House of Elders’.

Shri Naidu further advised the Members to go through publications including ‘Rajya Sabha at work’, ‘Practice and Procedure of Parliament’ by Kaul and Shakdher, ‘Members Handbook’, ‘Rule Book’ and other publications related to Parliamentary practices to enable them to become conversant with the practice and procedures of the House and enrich their knowledge about its functioning.

Shri Naidu informed that the newly elected/nominated/re-nominated members will be nominated to various Parliamentary Committees which function during inter-Session period and after getting nominated to the Parliamentary Committees, they will get an opportunity to make useful contribution in the Committee proceedings on important issues relating to public welfare.

Shri Naidu exhorted the Members to educate and motivate people in their constituencies to take vaccine at the earliest. In this regard Shri Naidu mentioned that the Government of India has already made the vaccine free for all persons falling in the category of 18 years and above except for those who want to get vaccinated in the private hospital.

Shri Naidu also remarked that Parliament is one of the pillars of democracy and parliamentarians have an immense responsibility for keeping it standing tall and strong. He stated that the Members have now been bestowed upon the opportunity to contribute towards further strengthening it and carrying forward the rich legacy of this august House.

Shri Thaawarchand Gehlot, Leader of the House, Shri Harivansh, Hon’ble Deputy Chairman, Rajya Sabha, Shri Pralhad Joshi, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Shri V. Muraleedharan and Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, Ministers of State for Parliamentary Affairs were also present on the occasion.